Misanthropy X

Our Evolution is Futile

6 Pictures I Want to Be Hanged in My Room

In no Paticulor Order:

6. “The Treachery of Images” by René Magritte. “The famous pipe. How people reproached me for it! And yet, could you stuff my pipe? No, it’s just a representation, is it not? So if I had written on my picture “This is a pipe,” I’d have been lying!” This work is just plain funny. At fist, it seems like such a ridiculous statement that the painter was just doing it to be contrary. However, as Magritte explains, it is 100% true. Extraordinarily witty.

5. A picture of a Silky Anteater. Google them. They are adorable and more people need to know that they exist.

4. “Figure with Meat” by Francis Bacon. One of the most horrifying pictures I have ever seen. Brilliantly chilling.

3. “Wain’s Cats” by Louis Wain. Not exactly awork made by him, but a collection of four of his paintings in a square. I am also not sure if they were originally red, because I have seen less colorful versitions of the same picture. SUPPOSEDLY, as Wain, a diagones schizophrenic, had his disease progress, the cats he drew became more and more stange to the point they didn’t even resemble cats anymore. Even if he was only testing his style, it does give you the image of a man gradually losing his mind over the years in one of the most effective ways possible.

2. “Garden of Earthly Delights” by Hieronymus Bosch. Ties for one of my favorite pictures of all time. Each pannel of this masterpiece is very odd, but done with the skill of a master. The hordes of naked bodies, the strange creatures that were both taken from mythology and from out of thin air, and just plain crazy forms of torture in the Hell portion. There is just so much to look at!

To see every detail, in all of its greatness and strangeness, go to this link: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/6/6d/The_Garden_of_Earthly_Delights_by_Bosch_High_Resolution.jpg

1. “Departure of the Winged Ship” by Salvador Dali. Dali is one of my favorite artists of all time, and this is his best work, even if it is the least strange.  Ties for my favorite picture for how stunningly beautiful it is.

~

Read the graphic novel “Epilectic” in one day. It was really good, one of the first good books I have read for a while. Wish it had a more sold ending though. Still, I definatly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

